Random Sounds: All About the Instrumentalists

It is all about instrumental music this week!

Singles

Instrumentals

I am a huge fan of -/Purple_Cobra\- which might be a surprise to some of my readers as they are an experimental band, but something about their sound resonates with me. This month their music has really hit it out of the park. “FUNK441209” according to the band is a down-tempo lo-fi experimental ambient electronic instrumental. My only complaint about the deep seapunk sounding “FUNK334521” it is that it is not long enough. 

I think I am crushing on J.M. Smig because I am fascinated by their work. Smig is from my area of town: Salem, Massachusetts. I have never even been to an event – I do not even know if Smig has concerts (need to check that out). I would not add Smig to the “traditional” Instrumental playlist. Smig lists “Peaches en Regalia” as an Electronic piece and this is true, but I also think experimental. This is not a dinner instrumental, this is a party instrumental or even a warm up to exercise. “Peaches” has energy and Smig also labels the song “nu disco” and this is probably the right term. I love this piece (notice it is on my wishlist). I do not know why Smig has not joined with other artists because Smig has amazing talent and can make anyone’s lyrics sound better. Put J.M. Smig on your radar and keep them there because their sound is always amazing.

Peoria, Illinois gives us the wonderful Crow Committee. “Maps” is a song you put on your car radio playlist. You do not have to think; you just drive down the road and bop your head and tap your fingers. This is an awesome song written by a 22-year-old artist, who I hope we hear more from. 

Spoken Word/Instrumental

Ali-B is new to me, they are from England. Alice states on their Bandcamp page that “this is not music” (laugh). I disagree Alice. I love “Therese”. It is melancholic and if the tags are correct it goes with the movie Carol (Dir. T. Haynes, 2015) which makes it fitting. I thought the sound was simple and beautiful. It brought me to a rainy day, a cup of tea, and memories. I do not know if that is what you intended, but that is what it did for me. Thank you. I think you make wonderful “not music”.  

EP/LP Releases

Olive Dakota is from Melbourne, Australia and they bring us a different type of instrumental sound with their Colours EP. They list as instrumental hip-hop. I would list it as experimental instrumental and necessary to add to your playlist. They mixed the beats on a  imaschine according to their Bandcamp page back in 2016 and forgot all about it. I am addicted to the beats and would add them to various playlists. “Greener Pastures” adds in vocal sound and it reminds me of a song that is just on the tip of my tongue and has been ever since I first heard it (laugh). It is a hip-hop instrumental that is made head bopping by the vocal addition. “Non-photo blue” is yet another tune that has a familiar beat, the scratch sound gives it an experimental sound instead of the hip-hop sound. “Blue” is the song I would want to wake me up everything morning because it has a layer of “happiness” in it. Dakota goes back to the vocal sound addition in “Steel Grey” and I say smoke it if you have it because if you play it on repeat it can be pretty trippy. “Lavender” is my favorite and is the first song on the EP and this is why I say that Colours is an experimental instrumental. Olive Dakota’s mix of beats is beautiful in this song. I cannot wait for the next EP and I hope the pieces are longer and just as eclectic. 

Everyone who has been reading my blogs knows I am a fan of Citizen Scientist so I try not to write all the time about the people I am a fan of (laugh) – they make it hard though. Citizen Scientist (aka Nora Nygard) puts out music every Friday, that is right every Friday. If I listened to all of it, I would be writing every week about the Scientist so I refrain (laugh). I Pat My Brain on the Back is a ten minute plus piece which is meditative, relaxing, and refreshing. According to their Bandcamp page, they used an Ensoniq ESQ-1, Yamaha MT120S Four-Track Cassette Recorder, and an Avid Pro.

Releases:

ELM – Death Of The North EP

ELM announces the imminent release of his new album Extreme Unspoken Tension and reveals its first sonic flavours with this Death Of The North 5-track EP. ELM is definitely back in town with some brand new relentless and breathtaking high-end electronic music productions!

With the album “Hardline” and its related EP’s, Peter Elm was instantly tagged as the much anticipated new 21st century successor to the Electronic Body Music masters like NITZER EBB, DAF and FRONT 242. Today, ELM serves us his characteristic ingredients injected with new energy for your ultimate pleasure: strong rhythms, aggressive in-your-face baselines and powerful vocals and lyrics!

“Death Of The North” comes in 3 stomping versions next to a second engaged club hit track “Thoughtcrime (mean-mugger mix)” and the catchy body-pop song “Thin Line”, an exclusive bonus non-album cut…

Prepare yourselves for the eruption of Extreme Unspoken Tension this autumn!

And meanwhile…  Eat this!

From Alfa Matrix 23 Aug 2019.

Announcements

Deadline 15 Sep 2019: Death Rattle Writers Festival is looking for: poetry, prose, fiction, comics, music, erotica, and books from lgbtqia+. Submission guidelines: deathrattlewritersfest.org/submit  Good luck Rainbows!!!!  

Listen to the #LGBTUrbanChart #TheWeeklyTop40 on #AllDigitalRadio on Saturday nights at 1800hrs EST. You can listen to all of these songs and all of the latest LGBT songs which premiered this week on my YouTube channel #PhoebesRandoms. Am I forgetting anyone? Let me know if I am.

Leave a comment