Review: Razor Wire by Lauren Gallagher

A crime happens in the silence in a world where protection is the code can two women stop it from happening again?

Synopsis:

MA3 Kim Lockhoff serves her country in the military police. After being raped by her superior officer and finding herself pregnant, she has nowhere to turn. MA2 Reese Marion has no use for Lockhoff as she considers her a pretty princess. The circumstances soon end up creating a bond between the two soldiers as they have shared experiences. When Marion is threatened, she realizes that she cannot even trust the chain of command. Left with no choices, but with one order the women leave to do as they are told only travel a different road. Sometimes the road leading to heartbreak can lead you in another direction.

I have to admit I kept putting this book off on my reading list. This book hits a little too close to home for me and if rape, military rape, sexual harassment, or violence is a trigger for you – then do not read this book. As a victim of all of these in the military, I admit I hesitated and for awhile. 

Razor Wire (2019) is written with sensitivity by Lauren Gallagher. The topics are not easy to deal with and she handles them realistically and with delicacy. Lockhoff’s response to what happens at her previous base and how she changes at her new base is actually pretty typical. The response to the change or should I say the “look” is also very “normal”. Marion’s response is normal too. The only thing that is not normal is the happy ending that Gallagher gives us in Lockhoff’s case. The bonus Gallagher gives us of a romance between Lockhoff and Marion grows naturally in the space it is given. Some might see the romance as happening too quickly, but things happen differently in the military and the women have been single for a long time. Sometimes what you want is standing in front of you all along. This book was sitting in my Kindle waiting for me to read and I am so glad I did because Gallagher told a story that needs to be told and gives us a love story too. Thank you Ms. Gallagher.

(This book was originally published in 2014. It is the 2016 EPIC Award Winner for Romantic Suspense.)

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Special Note: No matter what happened to me in the military, I loved serving my country. I love the military. I am proud to be a veteran. Please do not let some bad apples dissuade you from joining the military. There are bad apples everywhere. Peace and love, Phoebe.

If you are a victim of rape and need someone to talk to there is help 24/7:800-656-4673 (HOPE) or online at The National Sexual Assault Hotline

Sex: Rated R

Leave a comment